Church Officers

In addition to the leadership of its pastors, congregations in the Presbyterian Church (USA) are governed by councils which “exist to help congregations and the church as a whole be more faithful participants in the mission of Christ.” 

Ruling elders and deacons are men and women elected by the congregation from among its members. According to the Presbyterian Church (USA) Book of Order, the nomination and election of ruling elders and deacons shall express the rich diversity of the congregation’s membership and shall guarantee participation and inclusiveness. Ruling elders and deacons are nominated by a committee elected by the congregation, drawn from and representative of its membership.

The session is the council for the congregation and is composed of ruling elders, elected by the congregation to active service, as well as all installed pastors and associate pastors. Members of Session at Cary Presbyterian Church are elected for three-year terms and serve in leadership and support roles in the work of the church. Active elders include:

Class of 2019: Matt Donkin, Henry Gibbs, Julie Henry, Scott Peoples, Peggy Viser

Class of 2020: Jessica Cadwallader, Tim Farless, Christie Foppiano, Katie Stuart, Jim Tompkins 

Class of 2021: Bob Johnson, Rowena Morrison, Lynn Voss, Cathy Williams, Ken Worsham

Deacons at CPC are elected to two-year terms and are part of the wider net of the Health and Wholeness Ministry Area, thus working closely with the Pastoral Care Team, the Parish Nurse, the Card Writing Ministry and the Stephen Ministry. See more about CPC Deacons on the page at this link

Current Deacons

Front row:     Audrey Sausman, Betty Hart, Beth Campbell, Holly Boswell, Janet Robinette (Moderator)

Second row:  Free Henry, Russell Diggs, Susan Lamatrice, Mike Callis, Todd Crouse

Quick Links